Tuesday, January 25, 2011

The Green Hornet

The Green HornetRelease Date: January 14th, 2010

Click here for The Green Hornet Trailer.

Britt Reid (Seth Rogen) is the wealthy playboy son of media mogul and publisher of The Daily Sentinel James Reid (Tom Wilkinson). Britt is living the good life slacking off and partying until his father is suddenly found dead from a bee sting at the family mansion. To help him through the hard times, Britt turns to his father's mechanic and coffee maker Kato (John Chou) who shares stories of James Reid with Britt. After the funeral, Britt and Kato get drunk and proceed to decapitate the statue of James Reid which oversees his grave site as payback for how big of a dick he was to both Britt and Kato.

While running a muck, Britt witnesses a gang of muggers attempting to beat and rob two people on the street. Britt, wearing a bandanna as a mask, intervenes only to immediately regret it as the gang catches him. As the gang leader is about to cut out Britt's teeth, Kato jumps across the hood of a car and proceeds to single handedly beat up every single gang member using lightning fast martial arts. Impressed by Kato's skill, Britt convinces him that the two of them should become crime fighters with a twist. Instead of beating up bad guys in the name of justice, they will pose as other bad guys trying to take over the enemy's turf.

Kato agrees and begins making cars and weapons for the two of them to use, including a line of modified cars known as Black Beauties that are equipped with rocket launchers and machine guns. Britt, taking over The Daily Sentinel, hires Lenore Case (Cameron Diaz) who has a degree in criminology as his personal assistant and researcher. Britt tasks Lenore with doing research on his now alter ego The Green Hornet and uses the research, as well as Lenore's predictions about The Green Hornet's next move, to clean up the city.

However, Britt and Kato make their worst enemy in a man known as Benjamin Chudnofsky (Christoph Waltz), a Russian mobster bent on uniting the criminal families of Los Angeles under his command. While battling Chudnofsky, Britt and Kato uncover a dark secret that involves James Reid and the local government which may also lead to suspicions about James' death. But, in order to figure out what is truly going on, Britt and Kato need to survive not only Chudnofsky, but each other as well.

This review comes as a special request from my readers over at AK Steel in Middletown, Ohio. Thanks for being loyal followers.

So when people think about superheroes, Seth Rogen is probably not the first name that comes to mind. The man behind comedy films like Knocked Up, Pineapple Express and Zack and Miri Make A Porno is not really the type of guy you would cast as the lead in a superhero movie. But I guess when you are also the executive producer as well as the writer of the film, you can do whatever you want.

The character of The Green Hornet is more akin to Batman than any other superhero, a rich playboy who uses his vast wealth to fight crime. However, Bruce Wayne can actually fight, unlike Britt Reid, so it is a good thing that Kato, played by John Chou, is along for the ride. When I saw that Rogen was playing a superhero, I was a little worried. I didn't know if he was up to that type of character. That was until I saw the character. Rogen plays the party boy type character perfectly and does a great transformation from carefree playboy to crime fighter though he doesn't lose his irresponsibility.

I thought the concept of the story was good. I really thought all the characters were engaging and funny, even Cristoph Waltz. I loved Waltz' performance and character. Waltz plays Chudnofsky, a Russian mobster who is aging and going through a mid-life crisis. As you can probably tell, a ruthless mobster with a mid-life crisis makes for some pretty funny stuff. Chudnofsky is dealing with the fact that people do not find him scary anymore, even though he totes around a hand gun with two barrels.

Probably the biggest breakout star from this film is John Chou (not to be confused with John Cho of the Harold and Kumar series of films). Chou was simply incredible. His fighting skills were top notch and had to be considering he was the main crime fighter while Rogen was running away or getting beat up. Aside from that, Chou was actually very funny. He played very well off of Rogen and both of the actors seemed to feed off of each other's jokes, building the laughs.

I did not see this in 3D and I would advise not doing so unless, that is, you are extremely fond of 3D cinema. For me 3D doesn't add much, but it is a personal preference. 3D aside, the special effects in this film were truly spectacular. Filled with explosions, machine guns, building destruction and rockets, The Green Hornet keeps the action flowing. One thing I will say is that when Kato fights, the camera slows down everything around him and makes him super fast. I would have preferred traditional fighting cinematography but it was still fun to watch nonetheless. The action trickles in kind of slowly about 60% into the film but speeds back up at the end.

Overall I thought this movie was good. I thought all the actors gave great performances and really harnessed the spirit of their characters. The action was good and there was enough comedy blended in to make sure that neither the action nor the comedy was too overpowering. A+ for the special effects and kudos to Seth Rogen for showing that he can write and act in something other than a comedy filled with foul language, nudity, sex and drugs.

If you are in the mood for a good time, you want some kick-ass action or just a few good laughs, then you will be satisfied with The Green Hornet. A great film and one that was really fun to watch.

I give The Green Hornet 9 Overpowered Gas Guns out of 10.

Please Take a moment to recognize my sponsors.

Computers, Desktops, Laptops, Servers and the latest in Portable Tablet PCs are available from your computer rental company, Rentacomputer.com.

Talk to a Rentacomputer.com Tech Travel Agent Today!
Call Toll free 800-736-8772.

Thursday, December 23, 2010

The Chronicles of Narnia: The Voyage of the Dawn Treader

Release Date: December 10th, 2010

Click here for The Chronicles of Narnia: The Voyage of the Dawn Treader Trailer

Lucy Pevensie (Georgie Henley) and her older brother Edmund (Skandar Keynes) are the last of the Pevensie children to remain in Europe as their older siblings Peter (William Moselye) and Susan (Anna Popplewell) are away in America. Lucy and Peter are forced to live with their dreadful cousin Eustace Scrubb (Will Poulter), a smart, annoying boy who despises Lucy and Edmund and their stories of Narnia, stories which Eustace does not believe at all.

While the three children are arguing one day, water begins pouring out of a painting on the wall and fills the children's room up with water, transporting Lucy, Edmund and Eustace to Narnia. There they are picked up by the Dawn Treader, the greatest ship in the Narnian fleet. The ship is led by Caspian (Ben Barnes) who is now the King of Narnia. Caspian informs Lucy and Edmund that he is in search of the seven lost Lords of Narnia, who his uncle banished when he usurped the Narnian throne.

Edmund and Lucy's journey will take them to places they have never been before and will have them face foes they have never imagined. The gang will find themselves in Aslan's land and will face such threats as sea snakes and a terrible green mist that slavers sacrifice people to. This test will surely be the greatest one Lucy and Edmund have ever faced.

The third movie in the Narnia series sees the return of Skander Keynes and Georgie Henley, who reprise their roles as Edmund and Lucy Pevensie, the youngest of the four Pevensie children. Also returning from the last movie is Ben Barnes as Caspian, Simon Pegg as the voice of Reepicheep, the swashbuckling mouse, and Liam Neeson as the voice of Aslan, the lion. A new character also joins the ranks, Will Poulter who plays Eustace Scrubb, the annoying cousin of Lucy and Edmund

A lot of people liked this movie better than the previous one, The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian. Many fans thought the previous movie was boring. This one, however, was anything but boring. It had a lot of action as well as a deep story line that brought out the true characters in everybody involved.

When I first saw reviews for this film, I was a little skeptical. I saw that only the younger two Pevensie children were in this film and, to be honest, I always found them to be particularly annoying in the other films. However, I was thouroughly surprised and pleased with their performances and how they have matured, both as actors and as characters.

I was pleased with the action in this movie as well. Keynes and Barnes were both very good with their action scenes and I loved seeing Henley get in on some of the fighting. She was always so useless when it came to fighting in the other films, so it was nice to see this change of pace for her.

Old characters aside, there were a lot of new characters in this film. First off is Will Poulter who plays Eustace Scrubb, the younger cousin of Edmund and Lucy. Although his character was younger, I loved how "grown up" he was. He talked like a well educated adult and acted like a prissy, always-follows-the-rules type of person which was a nice contract to the magical, carefree and childlike attitudes of the other characters. Another new character is Reepicheep. While the character is not necessarily new, the person who does his voice is. Simon Pegg (Shaun of the Dead, Star Trek) portrays the swashbuckling mouse instead of Eddie Izzard and Bill Nighy who portrayed the character in the other films.

I felt like this movie had a lot more going for it. There was a lack of major battle scenes like in the first two films, but there were a lot of little fight scenes sprinkled throughout the entire film. There also seemed to be more plot and more underlying themes. Everybody knows that these movies are based on the novel series by C.S. Lewis and that Lewis is known for his symbolism related to Christianity that he places in the novels. The movie did a good job of staying true to that area of the novels. The plot was also much better than the last one. It seemed to have more meaning and it also seemed to really portray the struggles faced by Edmund, Lucy, Caspian and Eustace.
Overall, this movie was very good. I was pleased with the progression of character for both Keynes and Henley, and I thought all the other characters were great too. Barnes did a great job portraying Caspian, and Poutler was a great new addition as Eustace. The plot was definitely more engaging and more intense, and it can really grab the attention of the audience and hold it until the very end. If you loved the first two Narnia movies and you loved the novels, then you will not want to miss this one, especially considering that it is the last movie to feature any of the Pevensie children.

I give The Chronicles of Narnia: The Voyage of the Dawn Treader 8.5 Creepy Green Mists that Like to Kidnap Slaves out of 10.

Check out my sponsors below .

SMBnow.com is news of, for and by SMBs!
SMBnow.com... The Small & Medium Business Magazine!

Saturday, November 20, 2010

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1

Release Date: November 19th, 2010

Click here for the Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1 Trailer.

Following the death of his friend and Headmaster of Hogwarts Albus Dumbledore (Michael Gambon) at the hands of Professor, and Death Eater, Severus Snape (Alan Rickman), Harry Potter (Daniel Radcliffe) decides to drop out of Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry in his final year in order to complete the mission entrusted to him by Dumbledore: finding the remaining horcruxes that Lord Voldemort (Ralph Fiennes) created to hold pieces of soul, essentially making him immortal.

Accompanied by his two closest friends, Ron Weasley (Rupert Grint) and Hermione Granger (Emma Watson), Harry sets off across the many places where Voldemort could have hidden his horcruxes. But things quickly spiral out of control when, in a daring move, Voldemort kills Minister of Magic Rufus Scrimgeour (Bill Nighy) and takes over the Ministry of Magic as well as Hogwarts, appointing Death Eaters Pius Thicknesse (Guy Henry) and Severus Snape as Minister of Magic and Headmaster of Hogwarts, respectively.

With the ministry under Voldemort's control, Harry, Ron and Hermione must go into hiding as Harry has been deemed Undesirable No. 1 by the ministry, who has placed a 10,000 Galleon bounty on the boy wizard. With the only person able to stand up to Voldemort on the run and Voldemort's forces growing stronger, it is only a matter of time before the dark lord reveals himself to the wizarding world, taking control of everything. If he is to be defeated, Harry, Ron and Hermione must find the remaining horcruxes and destroy them, before all they know is lost.

The highly anticipated film adaptation to the final chapter in J.K. Rowling's epic masterpiece has finally arrived.....well, the first part at least. That's right, the final book in the Harry Potter series has been deemed so epic that it was forced to be split into two separate movies, the first which was just released and the second set to be released in July of 2011.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1 is the first half of the two part series set to round out the Harry Potter franchise. The film sees our main trio of characters on the run from Voldemort's forces while trying to destroy the dark lord's remaining horcruxes, objects into which Voldemort has placed pieces of his soul.

Anybody who has read all the books, or even just seen all of the films, has seen how as each book or movie comes out, the feel and the theme of them have gotten progressively darker, especially in the previous film, Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (who could forget the dramatic death of Albus Dumbledore?). Well, this one proves to be the darkest film yet and is definitely not one for the younger Harry fans out there.

This film is definitely dark with a lot of sad and even depressing themes to it. For the first time in the series the main setting is not the safety and security of Hogwarts. Instead, our trusty trio takes to the hills for their journey, one which holds the fate of both the wizard and muggle worlds in the balance. This change of scenery is a much needed break from the traditional halls of Hogwarts Castle. For me it added a sense of realism. It also helped to show just how far our characters have grown since we first laid eyes upon them in Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone.

When I say that this film is darker than the others, I mean it. There is a lot of drama in this film. With all that is going on around them and the weight and severity of the mission they have set out upon you can really get a sense of how serious things are for our three wizards.

Taking one book and making it into two movies is no easy task but director David Yates does a great job of finding the perfect cutoff point (Chapter 24 for those reading the book) and leaving fans with a huge cliffhanger and probably more anticipation for the next film than is needed.

There isn't a whole lot of action in this film as many may expect from the previews. There are about four or five mini-fight scenes in the film that help keep pace and are very exciting to watch. However, I find that this film wanted to focus more on developing the characters and the drama as well as the story than action. And that is exactly what Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1 does.

With this film you really get a sense of dread and despair that the characters are feeling. You can really feel the weight and importance of their decisions and how they will affect everybody around them. I love how through this movie you can really come to terms with who these characters have become and how grown up they have become through the course of these films. This film is so much darker than the other six that it may be a bit too intense for some of the younger fans of the series. There is definitely a more adult feel to this film, mainly because our characters are, in fact, adults.

Some fans of the series may find this film to be a tad on the boring side, reminiscent of the last film in the series, which many fans were less than impressed with. However, fans of the book will understand the direction this film takes and will remember that the whole of the action will take place in the second installment of the film.

As far as following the book goes, the film stays pretty close to the subject matter. There were things here and there that were left out that I, as a huge fan of the book, would have loved to see in the film, but I understand that they were not crucial points. On the other hand, there were instances in the movie that only people who have read the book may comprehend. For instance, the scene in the film where the gang infiltrates the ministry in order to capture one of the horcruxes felt a bit rushed and thrown in there. And many people may be a little confused about what is going on if they haven't read the books. There were a few parts like that in the movie but for the most part, everything seemed to flow quite nicely.

As far as the acting goes, this film was the best yet. It has really been cool to see how these main actors have grown up throughout the films and to see how far they have come in their acting careers. This movie strays away, for the most part, from the lightheartedness that was key in the other films, and the actors take it in stride. Daniel, Rupert and Emma really show their range in this film which takes the characters down whole new roads.

Overall I thoroughly enjoyed this film. It was not my favorite out of the series but it definitely added a lot to the plot and added a great deal of depth to the characters we have come to know and love. While some fans may find it a bit boring, true fans of the book will love it. The movie leaves you with an epic cliffhanger, so to speak, and makes anticipation for the next film that much more intense.

If you haven't seen this film yet and you are a true Harry Potter fan ,then you must see it. Growing up with these characters makes this feel less like a movie and more like a part of life. While I wished they had kept a few things from the book, I can honestly say that Yates stayed true to J.K. Rowling's subject matter. Definitely one of the best in the series.

I give Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 1 9 Horcruxes out of 10.

Saturday, November 6, 2010

Paranormal Activity 2

Release Date: October 22nd, 2010

Click Here for the Paranormal Activity 2 Trailer.

Kristi (Sprauge Grayden) and Dan Rey (Brian Boland) come home from vacation to find their home burglarized. Every single room in the house is trashed but the only thing that appears to be stolen is a necklace that Kristi's sister Katie (Katie Featherston) had given her. To prevent any further disturbances, Dan installs security cameras all over the house in order to keep an eye on every room. When mysterious "disturbances" start to plague the family, Dan's daughter Ali (Molly Ephraim) begins investigating with a hand held camera.

When Kristi and Katie talk about how they were tormented as children by "something" things begin to get out of hand. Kristi begins to feel personally attacked by whatever is in the house and her and Dan's new baby boy, Hunter, begins to be at risk as well. When the baby is mysteriously taken out of its crib by an unseen force and Kristi is viciously dragged out of the baby's room and into the basement Dan finally starts to believe the stories Ali has been telling him.

Dan tries to figure out a way to get rid of the "spirit" tormenting his family any way he can before everything he holds dear, Kristi, Hunter and even Ali, are hurt or worse, killed, by whatever it is that is terrorizing this family.

I love horror movies but I must admit that there isn't really a whole lot that can scare me. Michael Myers, Jason, Freddy, none of these "monsters" can really make me bat an eyelash. What does, however, get my spine tingling is anything that has to deal with demons, demon possession or the devil. The thought of somebody being "occupied" by some otherwordly force that has powers beyond imagination is quite literally terrifying. And seeing somebody physically effected by something nobody can see is just as bad.

That is why Paranormal Activity 2 was an instant hit in my book. The film follows the story of a family terrorized by what appears to be a demon bent on nothing but destroying this family. Like its predecessor, Paranormal Activity 2 is shot a little differently. Reminiscent of the Blair Witch Project style of shooting, the first film was shot using a hand held camera whereas the second used a mix of hand held camera and installed security cameras.

I feel that this style of cinematography adds an extra "creepy" feel to the entire film. It makes it feel more real. It is this style of shooting that is one of the key factors that makes this movie scary.

This film isn't really a sequel, and it isn't entirely a prequel either. The best way I can describe it is that 3/4 of the film is a prequel and 1/4 is a sequel/continuation. You definitely need to watch Paranormal Activity in order to fully understand what is happening in Paranormal Activity 2. Also, Paranormal Activity 2 explains a whole lot in the plot of the first film. By the time this one ends, everything about the first film will make sense.

The scares in this film were definitely freaky though the pacing was a little off. I felt like I spent a lot of the movie waiting for something big to happen. However, when those moments finally came they were well worth the wait. The big scares in this film were definitely terrifying. There were even a few scenes involving the baby that made me want to scream out at the screen in defense.

With any sequel/prequel/parallel/whatever movie you generally find yourself comparing it to the other one. In most cases one is way better than the other. Not the case here though. Neither one of these films was incredibly better than the other. They were both very good.

Overall I liked this movie. I thought is was very scary but not to the point of making me pee my pants. I thought all the characters were really good and most people will be able to relate. All the actors did great jobs in their roles and it was really cool to see how the first film, along with its two main characters, was tied into this one.

If you loved the first Paranormal Activity then you will love this one but DO NOT go see this one if you haven't experienced the scares of the first because the ending will not make sense. Oh! I almost forgot about the ending! The ending was incredible. It was a huge twist that I did not see coming at all and I even thought they were going to end the film at a different point. But then the real ending came and I was blown away.

I give Paranormal Activity 2 9 Helpless Babies Dragged from their Cribs by an Unseen Demon out of 10.

Say Hi to my Sponsors!
If you are in the market for an InFocus Projector Rental then visit Rentacomputer.com or give them a call at 800-736-8772.

Monday, October 4, 2010

Case 39

Case 39Release Date: October 1st, 2010

Click here for the Case 39 Trailer.

Emily Jenkins(Renee Zellweger) is a young social worker who is assigned to investigate the family of 10-year-old Lillith Sullivan(Jodelle Ferland). Lillith's grades have steadily declined and an emotional tear between her and her parents has warranted the concern of the state. When Emily investigates the family, she comes to the conclusion that they are abusing Lillith and neglecting her. But without hardcore evidence, Emily cannot do anything to help Lillith.

But the scene quickly changes when Emily receives a phone call from Lillith saying her parents are coming for her. Emily, along with her friend Detective Mike Barron(Ian McShane), go to Lillith's house to find her in a horrible situation. After that, Lillith is placed in a group home until she convinces Emily to adopt her until the state can find a decent foster family.

After Lillith moves in with Emily, strange things begin to happen. The kids in Lillith's support group begin acting violently and Emily's friends, including her best friend and Lillith's Psychiatrist Douglas J. Ames(Bradley Cooper), begin experiencing horrible accidents. Emily soon begins to think that this case of a poor helpless girl may not be as clear as she once assumed, and it is up to her to figure out exactly what is going on and exactly what Lillith is before it is too late.

Renee Zellweger returns to the big screen, in person that is, for the first time since 2008 and does a pretty good job. I hadn't heard a lot about this movie before I saw it. At most I had seen maybe two previews for it, but other than that I was completely in the dark about the plot, the actors etc... but I decided to give it a chance anyway. Now considering it is October, scary movies are definitely the way to go.

As far as Case 39 goes, this movie won't top my all time scream fests but it will lay somewhere in the middle with films like Signs and 30 Days of Night. I just wasn't particularly scared during this movie. While it did have a few spots that made me jump, the overall "scare factor" just wasn't there. What was there was a great cast list as well as an original and interesting story that kept me involved.

I've always liked Renee Zellweger and I have always thought she has done great work with all of her films. She kept her streak with me going with Case 39. I felt obligated to feel for her character and empathize with how she felt and reacted to certain situations. Normally I find social workers in film and television to be pompous and just downright annoying. However, with Zellweger I felt like she was legitimately trying to help people. This will connect with audiences and keep them paying attention throughout the film.

I was really impressed with the performance delivered by the young Jodelle Ferland. Now everybody knows that children in horror roles are creepy, but Jodelle took it to a whole new level. While she definitely does not outshine the terror that is Linda Blair in The Exorcist, Ferland does add her own form of creepiness. I think what got me the most was the fact that the whole time she was making these horrible things happen she maintained a cute, bubbly personality like everything was normal. She would giggle and act like a normal little kid which, for me, was the creepiest part.

I thought the story was very intriguing. While I already knew what Ferland's character was, I still found the main basis behind her behavior and why she did the things she did to be very interesting. The power of whatever Lillith was supposed to be was definitely scary, and it always made you wonder what was going to happen next and when it was going to happen. This also made you feel the stress that Zellweger's character went through.

I do, however, have on gripe on the story. Towards the end, when you finally realize what Lillith is and what she wants, the movie builds and builds and builds, adding all this anticipation for what you think is going to be some huge confrontation. For me, I was expecting Lillith to go full on demon mode and wreak havoc or at least go out with some style. However, spoilers aside, she didn't. While I won't tell you the exact ending, for me it felt abrupt and unimaginative. I felt like something greater should have taken down Lillith.

Other than that this was a pretty decent movie. Enough plot and suspense to keep you interested but definitely not one of the scariest films in theaters. If you want a decent psychological horror film, then you should definitely give Case 39 a look.

I give Case 39 7 "Harmless" Children Shoved into Ovens out of 10.

Sponsors! Yay!
If you need a nationwide HP Desktop Computer Rental, then call Rentacomputer.com today at 800-736-8772. They have a full range of HP Desktop Computer Rentals.

Sunday, September 19, 2010


Devil PosterRelease Date: September 17th, 2010

Click here for the Devil Trailer.

Five strangers enter an elevator on what appears to be a normal day with none of them expecting the horrors they are about to face. Not more than a minute into the trip the elevator stops, stranding inside the five individuals. With two security guards, Ramirez(Jacob Vargas) and Lustig(Matt Craven), working frantically to get the people out, the police show up, led by Detective Bowden(Chris Messina) and his partner Detective Markowitz(Joshua Peace) who are investigating an apparent suicide that took place in the building earlier that day.

The news of the suicide reminds Ramirez of a story his mother told him when he was little. The story tells of the Devil roaming the earth and sometimes taking human form to torture and take the souls of the damned. The story always begins with a suicide opening the doors for the Devil to come in. Ramirez believes that the people in the elevator have been selected by the Devil to be punished for the sins of their past.

According to Ramirez's mother's story, the Devil is one of the five people in the elevator, and one by one they will each be killed with the last person being killed in front of the love of his/her life. As more problems occur and individuals in the elevator actually do begin to die, Bowden races to figure out just exactly what is going on and try to save those in the elevator before the devil takes his dues.

Ok. I'm not going to lie. When I saw M. Night Shyamalan's name attached to this film, I was, like I always am with him, a little wary. Let's be honest though, the last few movies from Shyamalan haven't been the greatest (The Last Airbender ringing any bells?). But I decided to give it a chance and not "judge a book by its cover", and I'm glad I did.

Throughout the movie I kept wondering where Shyamalan would throw in his big "twist" that would completely change and, most likely, ruin (*cough cough* The Happening *cough cough*) the entire movie, but that point never came. Another point that also never came was M. Night Shyamalan's cameo that he makes in all of his films. It was only after this that I realized why this movie wasn't failing.....because Shyamalan wasn't directing it. In fact, he didn't direct or write it, he was merely a producer who wrote the story from which this movie was created.

The movie was actually directed by John Erick Dowdle, and the screenplay was adapted by Brian Nelson with Shyamalan acting as a producer and creator of the concept. So now you know why this film didn't suck. So let me get into why this film was good.

The concept was very intriguing with five people trapped in an elevator, one of which is the Devil aiming to kill everyone else. This movie could have gone very badly. Most audiences do not like the feeling of being trapped. When making a film where the main characters are stuck in one solitary, confined space, audiences could feel claustrophobic which would deter them from enjoying the film. Thankfully, the film pulled out of the elevator regularly to allow audiences to breath.

If you are into suspense, then you will definitely like this film as it keeps you on the edge of your seat for the entire 80 minutes. In the beginning you immediately try to figure out which of these five people is the Devil and as the movie progresses, and each person is slowly killed off, you desperately try to figure out what is going on which makes the entire film very attention grabbing.

The film is also a little scary at times. You always know when something bad is about to happen as the lights in the elevator begin to flicker on and off and eventually shut off for about a minute. When they come back on, somebody has been killed in a gruesome way. Another thing I really liked about the movie is how clues were dropped that tied everyone together by bringing up bad things they have done in their past making them perfect for the Devil to take.

I thought all the performances were very good. I recognized some of the actors like Bokeem Woodbine, Gefforey Arend, Matt Craven and Jacob Vargas. Others like Chris Messina, Bojana Novakovic and Logan Marshall-Green all did excellent jobs. This film was probably difficult to film with the actors all confined to one set. However, they all seemed to handle it well. I loved how they turned on each other in the film, it added even more suspense to the already stressful film.

Overall this was a very good movie. The film switched between inside and outside the elevator enough to keep the audience from feeling trapped, and it definitely had an interesting and suspenseful plot with a killer twist ending that may shock a few people. The acting was all very good, and the gore was enough to be scary/creepy but had enough moderation to not be disgusting. In my opinion, M. Night Shyamalan should stick to making stories and let other people direct them as it seems to bode better for him.

I give Devil 8 Devil Infested Elevators out of 10.

Take some time to say hi to my sponsors:
Call Rentacomputer.com today at 800-736-8772 if you are in the market for a Nationwide Copier Rental.

Tuesday, August 24, 2010


InceptionRelease Date: July 16th, 2010

Click here for the Inception Trailer.

Dom Cobb(Leonardo DiCaprio) lives in a world where people can enter other people's dreams and, in doing so, extract information that would otherwise be impossible to retrieve. Dom is an extractor, a professional thief who specializes in conning secrets from his targets by infiltrating their dreams. Dom has a specialized team including his partner Arthur(Joseph Gordon-Levitt) who is the point man, the Forger Eames(Tom Hardy) who can take the form of other people in a dream and Ariadne(Ellen Page), the team's architect who is in charge of constructing the worlds were the dreams will take place.

Dom and his team are approached by Mr. Saito(Ken Wantanabe), a businessman whose dreams they were infiltrating. Mr. Saito reveals that he was testing the team for a job. Mr. Saito wants Dom and his team to perform something known as Inception, implanting an idea into somebody's head through their dreams which will then push the person to make the decision in real life.

The act of inception has never been successfully done and Dom is wary about trying it. Mr. Saito's target is Robert Fischer(Cillian Murphy), the son of Mr. Saito's terminally ill corporate rival and heir to his father's business. Mr. Saito wants to implant the idea that Fischer should break up his father's empire so Mr. Saito can be number one in the industry. In order to perform inception, Dom and his team must infiltrate a dream within a dream within a dream in Fischer, deeper than anyone has ever gone.

Due to the depth of the project, Dom enlists the help of Dr. Yusuf(Dileep Rao), a sedative chemist. Yusuf develops a sedative that is strong enough to keep Dom and his team unconscious long enough to achieve their objective. However, should someone die in the dream they will not be woken up in real life as is common with extracting information. Instead they will be stuck in a limbo for an indeterminate amount of time. With the risk of inception along with the risk of going so deep into a human's subconscious, the added threat of any training the subject has had against dream infiltration and Dom's personal struggles against a ghost from his past, the hopes of coming out of the dream is slim at best.

Ok so Inception comes from the mind of Christopher Nolan, the same genius that brought us The Dark Knight. So needless to say, this movie is probably going to be good. But it isn't good, it isn't great, it's phenomenal. This is probably one of the best movies I have ever seen and is definitely one of my new all time favorites.

First off, the premise behind the movie is just so intense. The possibility of going into somebody's dreams and retrieving information or even implanting information is beyond cool. Couple that with all the things some of these characters can do in the dreams and the imagination highway seems endless. One thing I loved about this film is how Leonardo DiCaprio's team could do almost anything they want and add or subtract virtually anything. It sort of reminded me of the premise behind The Matrix where the characters could receive anything and learn anything instantly.

Let me just say that if you don't like movies that make you think, then you should not see this movie. You will be constantly wondering whether or not the characters are in a dream, how many dreams they are in or if they are in real life. But this just adds to the overall suspense of the film. It also grabs your attention and doesn't let go until the credits roll, and even then you won't want to leave.

I really loved the action in this film. Car chases, shootouts, assaults on military bases and an insane fight in zero gravity are just the tip of the iceberg. One cool element that added to the action was how, if something went wrong, a person's dream could begin to collapse causing all kinds of mayhem.

I thought all the actors and actresses were fantastic. There was a nice blend of personalities and styles. From fairly new actors like Ellen Page to seasoned veterans like Leonardo DiCaprio and the always incredible Michael Caine, there was somebody for everybody to enjoy. All the performances were top notch and will definitely be ones people remember for years to come.

I don't think I can find any fault with this ending. The one thing some people may have a problem with is the ending, which leaves plenty of room for debate. But I like that fact about the ending so for me it is a positive. Overall this movie was fantastic. It had a story that blew my mind and caused me to doubt whether or not I was living or in a dream. The action was intense and flowed perfectly with the story and most certainly was not overdone. The acting was incredible and no person delivered a bad performance.

Overall I think I will have to say that this movie is my favorite of the summer. In my opinion this film needs to win an award for Best Picture. I give Inception 10 Totems out of 10.