Wednesday, February 25, 2009

He's Just Not That Into You

He's Just Not That Into You - review by zackRelease Date: February 6th, 2009

Click here for the He's Just Not That Into You Trailer.

It seems that when you have a girlfriend, you stop seeing movies you want to see and start seeing all the chick flicks and romance movies that she wants to see. Yet, even though your right to see a movie you want to is stripped from you, just remember that you have a girlfriend and you have somebody to see a movie with, even if it is a girlie movie.

So, after Valentine's Day and seeing a chick flick, I thought "Hey! Maybe I can choose the movie this time!" Well I was wrong. I had to see the romantic comedy "He's Just Not That Into You."

This romantic comedy, based on the best selling books written by Sex and the City's Greg Behrendt and Liz Tuccillo, hosts a cast of many popular celebrities including Drew Barrymore, Ben Affleck, Jenifer Aniston, Jennifer Connelly, Scarlett Johansson and Justin Long who all mesh together pretty well.

The movie revolves around a group of people with relationship troubles who are all connected in some way, either by interaction or a friend, but don't really know it. The complications start when Gigi(Ginnifer Goodwin), a girl who only wants a guy to say he will call her and actually do it, is set up on a blind date with Conor(Kevin Connolly), a real-estate agent who, honestly, is not that into her. When Conor promises to call Gigi bt doesn't, Gigi stops by a restraunt where Conor goes, which happens to be managed by his friend Ken(Justin Long). When Ken hears Gigi talk about Conor, he feels it is his job to set her straight and give her some tips on how to tell if a guy is interested or not. Meanwhile, Conor is on a mission to get back with his ex-girlfriend, Anna(Scarlett Johansson), who really isn't that into Conor but likes doing ever thing couples do except sleep with each other, which, as you guessed it, frustrates Conor. Anna, who is also a musician trying to make it big, bumps into Ben(Bradley Cooper), a business man who works with a music label. When they hit it off right from the start, Ben quickly realizes their is a big problem, he's married to Janine(Jennifer Connolly). Janine, who deeply loves Ben, starts to mistrust him when she finds out he has been smoking again. The two decide to take a break when Ben is caught sleeping with Anna. Ben decides to stay with his friend Neil(Ben Affleck) who is in a fantastic relationship with Janine's friend Beth(Jennifer Aniston). Beth and Neil have been together for 7 years and Beth wants to get married, against Neil's personal beliefs abput marriage. When Neil doesn't commit, he moves onto his boat where Ben soon winds up. Beth vents to her friends Janine and Gigi, who all work at the same office. While all this is going on, Anna is consolling her friend Mary(Drew Barrymore) who has a great group of loving and supportive male friends, who all happen to be gay. Mary just wants someone to be her special someone.

This complex web of love, loss, trust, and what ever else you can throw into it gets pretty complicated through out the whole movie. But, fortunatley is pretty easy to follow. In the end, things work out for some and fall apart for others. People cry, laugh, love, and some relationships are formed that you might not expect.

I personally thought this movie would be funnier than it was. From the previews I saw of it I thought "Oh great, another romantic movie." It was funny in places but not to the extent I was expecting from the previews. I did, however, enjoy the great cast of characters. All the big name celebs that were in it performed as you would expect, great. I would have expected to see a little more Drew Barrymore. I figured a name like hers would of had a bigger part. The characters all seemed to work well with each other and with all the names in it there wasn't any feeling of clash, like one star trying to outshine another. The plot was intersting. I liked how the writers meshed everybody together and made all of them interact or be connected on different levels, mostly without them even knowing about it.

Overall I thought this movie was o.k. It was good for a romantic comedy but not one I could picture myself watching over and over again and probably only once or twice a year. So, I give He's Just Not That Into You 6 Confusing Love Webs out of 10

Tuesday, February 24, 2009

Grindhouse: Death Proof

Death Proof - review by zackRelease Date: April 6th, 2009

Click here for the Death Proof Trailer.

If you read my previous post, then you know I saw the first Grindhouse double feature entitled Planet Terror directed by Robert Rodriguez. Well, I just recently saw the second movie in the pack called Death Proof.

Quentin Tarantino works his magic in this movie about a veteran stuntman with a wicked passion. In Death Proof, a man, simply called Stuntman Mike, played by Kurt Russell, is a veteran stuntman who drives a vintage stunt car which he calls death proof. Stuntman Mike seems normal until he is revealed as a terrible killer. Mike likes to do one thing: stalk beautiful women in his car and run them off the road to a grizzly death. Everything goes as he plans until he picks a fight with three tough girls, played by Rosario Dawson, Tracie Thoms, and Zoe Bell. It is soon to be found that this fight will be his last. When he thinks he finished off the three beauties, he goes in to see when he is shot. Mike takes off only to have the tables turned, Mike is now the hunted. The girls finally get Mike's car to crash violently. When they get to him they rip him out of the car and mercilessly beat him to death.

I really like the way this movie is shot. Since the entire Grindhouse double feature is a homage to the classic B-movies of old, it would only be natural that it look and feel like an old theater movie. Well thats exactly what Tarantino did. The visual concept looks like a theater. It has the same old grainy lines and is kind of fuzzy at times, not to mention a spot or two where the reel just completely cuts off and starts a new scene.

Like all of Tarantino's other movies(Pulp Fiction, Kill Bill) Death Proof is violent and bloody. The violence in Death Proof is very graphic which will make people who are faint of heart a little queezy but will thoroughly entertain the fans of slasher films, Tarantino films, cult films, or anything gory.

Overall I thought this movie was o.k. It started off slow for me and was a little boring in the beginning. The action, however, picked up when Rusell started chasing the girls. The scenes here were done really well and the stunts were great. If I had to pick a favorite between Quentin Tarantino's Death Proof an Robert Rodriguez's Planet Terror I would have to pick Planet Terror. Death Proof just didn't do it for me like Planet Terror but I still give Death Proof 6 Crazed Stuntmen out of 10.

Saturday, February 14, 2009

Confessions Of A Shopaholic

Confessions Of A ShopaholicRelease Date: February 13th, 2009

Click here for the Confessions Of A Shopaholic Trailer.

Normally I would not be one to just go see this type of movie. However, it was Valentine's Day and the girlfriend gets to choose so I saw Confessions Of A Shopaholic.

Confessions Of A Shopaholic, derived from the book by the same name and written buy Sophie Kinsella, follows the story of Rebecca Bloomwood, a girl whose parents were extreme bargain shoppers and savers when she was young, only allowing Rebecca to have discount off-brand things. It was this that transformed her into a compulsive shopper with 12 credit cards, all of which she used religiously. Rebecca's dream is to one day work at Allete, the premiere fashion magazine. But, when she buys a green scarf and gets a $900 credit card bill, and the magazine she works for goes bankrupt, Rebecca loses her job, her source of income and ultimately the fuel of her insatiable desire to buy. When her spot at Allete is taken, Rebecca does the next best thing, she gets a job at a money magazine about debt and saving which is ironic because throughout the movie Rebecca is followed closely by a hungry debt collector who wants nothing more than to get her. Rebecca falls in love with her editor but is simultaneously lying to him about her debt and her interest at his magazine, which is in the same family as Allete. Through the course Rebecca goes through many twists and turns and even a shopaholics anonymous meeting all while trying to make it to the top.

Isla Fischer(Hot Rod, Wedding Crashers) plays Rebecca. The Scottish-born actress, who was raised in Australia, portrays the fun-loving shopaholic perfectly. You can really get a sense of the priorities in her life. Relative newcomer Hugh Dancy plays Rebecca's love interest Luke Bryan, the editor at the magazine Rebecca works at. A quaint British character, Dancy's role is one that audiences will be drawn to, his unique style and characteristics make him a lovable character. These two young actors, however, do share the spotlight with a few well-known celebrities. Joining Fischer and Dancy are the likes of Joan Cusak and John Goodman, who play Rebecca's quirky parents, and John Lithgow, who is the head of the magazine firm that houses both Allete and Rebecca's job at the money magazine.

Overall I actually didn't hate this semi-romantic, chick-flick movie as much as I thought I would. It was actually pretty funny and enjoyable to watch. You don't get the chick-flick feel that you think you would. And its not like a dull romantic-comedy either. The movie leans more to the comedy side than the romantic side but is still a movie primarily shot towards the female audience. However, I think the big name actors that were in this movie, though they did very well in their roles, were under used for their talents. But, I liked this movie and so did my girlfriend and any guy knows that if the girlfriend is happy then the guy is happy. A good movie to see on a date or, in my case, on Valentine's Day. I give Confessions Of A Shopaholic 7 crazed shopaholics out of 10

Tuesday, February 10, 2009

Top Valentine's Day Movies

Valentine's Day MoviesEveryone knows what day is coming up soon. Valentine's Day. For the ladies, its the highlight of the year, the day their special guy shows his true love for his woman. For guys, its the "Holy crap! Its Valentines Day" panic about what we will get them, what we will do, and how we can try and not screw up this one time a year.

Deciding what to do is tough, dinner is good, flowers, candy, and a card are all essentials, but there's one thing you can never go wrong with and that's curling up on the couch with your valentine and watching a romantic movie. Now I, like most guys out there, would rather do anything than watch some chick flick. However, on Valentine's Day its all about the ladies. So, since I'm such a nice guy, I have decided to give all the men out there a little help in finding a good romantic movie to watch with your girl.

Across the Universe(2007)- This movie, staring Jim Sturgess and Evan Rachel Wood, is a great romantic story played out in classic Beatles music. The perfect match for any mood.

West Side Story(1967)- Another musical love story, this one follows the tale of a New York street gang member and his quest for the love of his life Maria.

City of Angels(1998)- Oh my goodness, this movie has one of the purest and most beautiful storys ever told. Nicholas Cage plays an angel who gives up his immortality and angel status for the woman he fell in love with played by Meg Ryan.

Tristan and Isolde(2006)- A story of love that was not permitted in this period movie starring James Franco and Sophia Myles.

The Wedding Singer(1998)- This romantic comedy starring Adam Sandler and Drew Barrymore is one move that I know both you and your valentine will enjoy. It combines the right blend of comedy for the guys with the perfect mix of romance for the ladies.

P.S. I Love You(2007)- The story of love, life, and loss stars Hilliary Swank who was literally left, alone, by her Irish boyfriend played by Gerard Butler.

Never Been Kissed(1999)- The story of a nerdy high schooler who never got her first kiss, grows up to be a succesful journalist and goes undercover at a high school to find ut about the teenage life and ends up falling in love with her english teacher.

Something's Gotta Give(2003)- Jack Nicholson and Diane Keaton star in this romantic comedy. Nicholson is dating Keaton's daughter but ends up falling for Keaton while a young, good looking doctor, played by Keanu Reeves, is trying to hook up with Diane Keaton

Sleepless In Seattle(1993)- Tom Hanks and Meg Ryan play in this movie where a hapless single father's(Hanks) son cals in a radio station and puts the word out that his dad needs a wife. A cute romantic movie that both of you should enjoy.

Shakespeare In Love(1999)- The tale of a young William Shakespeare who falls in love with a woman(Gwynneth Paltrow) who secretly dresses as a man to perform on stage in Shakespeare's plays .

There's Something Abput Mary(1998)- This movie leans more towards the comedy side but still has its romantic aspects. Ben Stiller is vieing for the affection of Mary(Cameron Diaz) but can never seem to make a brakthrough with the relationship he so desperatley wants.

When Harry Met Sally(1989)- A true romantic movie starring the ever funny Billy Crystal and the queen of romantic movies Meg Ryan, you will definatley be delighted when you see this one.

Casablanca(1943)- This is probably one of the best known romantic movies of all times. And even though it was made over 60 years ago the true fact remains that "a classic never dies."

A Walk to Remember(2002)- Wow, where to even begin. Ths movie is sad. I mean really sad. If you don't cry or at least get sad at all then you have no soul. Mandy Moore stars as a good christian girl who keeps to herself when she gets together with the popular guy. They fall in love, get married and then she dies of leukemia. A nice way to show how much life can suck. But your girlfriends will love it, trust me.

While You Were Sleeping(1995)- Sandra Bullock plays a lonely train station worker when shes sees Peter Gallagher's character. When he is mugged, knocke unconsious, and dumped on the train tracks, Bullock jumps in and saves him. Confusion insues at the hospital and everyone thinks she is Gallagher's fiance. And things only get worse when she falls in love with Gallagher's brother played by Bill Pullman.

Pearl Harbor(2001)- Guys do not be fooled, this is not an awesome war movie based on the true story of he surprise attack by the Japanese but is, in fact, a romance movie involving a love triangle between Ben Affleck, Josh Hartnett, and Kate Beckinsale. The name, based on where the Japanese attacked, is just a ploy to get guys to watch a romantce movie.

Moulin Rouge(2001)- Yet another musical romance mvie this time starring Ewan McGregor and Nicole Kidman. It follows the story of a man following his love, a performer at the Mulin Rouge.

Grease(1978)- Starring a young John Travolta and Olivia Newton-John, Grease tells the tale about greaser Danny(Travolta) and his summer fling with Sandrs D(Newton-John), a good, wholesome girl from England. The story follows the polar opposites as they try to rekindle their love. A definite romantic musical classic.

Titanic(1997)- The fictious tale of love in a true catastrophe. Leonardo DiCaprio and Kate Winslet are two people from different walks of life, one being a wealthy woman and the other a poor street peddler, who fall in love despite unapproving family members and social status that all takes place during the sinking of the Titanic.

Dirty dancing(1987)- Jennifer Grey plays a rcih girl at a family camp who, despite her father's disapprovale, falls in love with a dance instructor played by Patrick Swayze. Thw two will dance their way into your hearts if you pick this one up.

The Notebook(2004)- Rachel McAdams and Ryan Gossling is, like most romantic movies, about a couple whose social status does not belong together, the story is told through the eyes of Gosslings character but nararated by James Garner, the older incarnation of Gossling's character who is reading the noebook with the story in it to his wife, Gena Rowlands, who is an older reincarnation of McAdams' character. This movie will definatley put you into the good graces of your valentine if you decide to pop this ino the DVD player.

So there you have it, a good list of romantic movies to watch while snuggling next to that special someone of yours.

Friday, February 6, 2009

Grindhouse: Planet Terror

Release Date: April 6th, 2009

Click here for the Planet Terror Trailer.

The first flick in the double feature created by acclaimed directors Quentin Tarantino(Pulp Fiction) and Robert Rodriguez(Sin City) falls under the name Planet Terror. In the double feature, each director contributes a movie giving homage to their favorite B-list movies.

Rodriguez starts it off with Planet Terror. This movie sends a shout out to all the zombie movies out there. When Cherry(Rose McGowan, Charmed), a go-go dancer from Texas finally decides to start a new life, her plans get screwed when a mass of ravaging, man-eating zombies is let loose from a military base in Texas. When an attack leaves her beaten and missing a leg, her old flame Wray(Freddy Rodriguez, Six Feet Under)shows up. Together they team up with the local sherrif's department and some locals not affected by the virus to take down this zombie plague.

This movie is anything short of celebrities. It stars, among the forementioned cast, actors such as Josh Brolin, Naveen Andrews(Lost), Quentin Tarantino, and the ever popular Bruce Willis. Another aspect this movie has is gore. If there is anything we know about a Robert Rodriguez film its that its going to be filled to the brim with over-the-top violence and gore and Planet Terror is no different. Around every turn someone is getting shot, stabbed, eaten, or blown up and an explosion of blood follows right after.

The acting and the writing in this movie is, shall we say, cheesey. But, that is the entire point. Since it is a tribute to B-list movies all the corny dialogue you would expect from them is in Planet Terror. Overall the movie was good. It was nice to see A-list celebrities play in a not-so-elaborate movie and have a little fun as aposed to their oscar winning serious movies. In the end, Robert Rodriguez's Planet Terror gets 7.5 One-legged Go-Go dancers out of 10.

Sunday, February 1, 2009

Upcoming Movies For 2009

Since 2008 is done and gone with I thought I would compile a list of movies for the new year, some I'm extremely excited for and some you may be excited for. So here we go.

There's going to be a ton of movies coming out this year and if you can't find at least one you're interested in then you need to check for a pulse because you're probably dead.

I've put the movies into different categories starting with the top 10 I am most excited for.

Top 10 Movies I'm Most Excited For.(note: movies not in order of excitment rating)

1.) X-men Origins: Wolverine - Oh yeah, a movie totally dedicated to Wolverine. Nothing could be better, unless Gambit was in it. OH WAIT! He excited I could die.

2.) Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince - The next installment in the amazing Harry Potter series. These movies are so goo they actually got me interested in reading, not an easy task

3.) Fast and the Furious - The fourth movie in the franchise will probably be the best considering they're bringing back the original cast of Paul Walker and Vin Diesle

4.) S. Darko - Donnie Darko ring a bell for anybody? Well it should. This 2001 movie starring both Jake and Maggie Gyllenhal was an instant cult classic and this highly anticipated surprise sequal is sure to please fans of the original

5.) 2012 - seeing the trailers doesnt reveal much, only that it seems to be an apocolyptic end of the world but hey, its got me excited.

6.) Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen - The sequel to the summer blockbuster, this movie brings back all the same cast members and the same director and looks to be a box office hit this year

7.) Watchmen - Yet another adaptation from a comic book/graphic novel to a big screen flick. This one has fanboys jumping with excitment. One of the best selling graphic novels of all times has set the bar to be one of the best movies of the new year.

8.) Star Trek - "This is Captain James T. Kirk of the Starship Enterprise" who could ever forget those magical words spoken by william shatner so many years ago? Well, with this new take on our favorite intergalatic travelers we see a young Kirk and Spock with an equally young Enterprise crew. This one will surley excite anyone who may or may not be a fan of the Star Trek franchise.

9.) The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus - The final performance of the late actor Heath Ledger, this movie will have several actors playing the main role including Johnny Depp and Jude Law to fullfill the role left by Heath Ledger. It promises to be an interesting movie.

10.) Fanboys - A movie many of you probably have not heard of but will no doubt be a hit with uber nerds like myself. The only thing I can say is that this movie revolves around a group of super Star Wars nerds who embark on a quest to get a copy of the script for the Phantom Menace for their dying friend.

Some more movies to look out for this year, organized by category, for those of you who need help, lol.

1.) Planet 51
2.) Ice Age: Dawn of the Dinosaurs
3.) Coraline

1.) Red Sonja
2.) Spy Hunter
3.) Ninja Assassin
4.) G.I. Joe: Rise of Cobra
5.) A Perfect Getaway
6.) Nottingham
7.) Inglorious Basterds

1.) Terminator Salvation
2.) The Box
3.) The Surrogates
4.) Knowing

1.) Them
2.) The Proposal(romantic comedy)
3.) The Informant(black comedy)

1.) The Pink Panther 2
2.) Night at the Museum 2: Battle for the Smithsonian
3.) Hannah Montana
4.) They Came From Upstairs

1.) Friday The 13th
2.)Creature From The Black Lagoon
3.) The Wolfman
4.) The Birds

1.) Inkheart
2.)Dorian Grey
3.) Sherlock Holmes

1.) Taking of Pelham 123
2.) The International

1.) Nine

Well that pretty much wraps it up. Now this is not a full list of all movies in 2009, just a few notable ones to spark your interest.